Museum of World Cultures – Barcelona

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last week, I took a well deserved break and went to Barcelona for a few days. I’m not going to go into the whole trip, don’t want to bore you to tears. But it was fascinating. It seems as though everyone had been to Barcelona except me!! Loads of people gave recommendations, and I was told more than once, that one visit would not be enough.

Anyway. Having spent 4 days taking in the sights, eating the food, working out how and just getting used to navigating the Metro. It was nearly time to go home. Then, leaving the Picasso museum, my friend and I serendipitously spotted The Museum of World Culture. Total accident!!

The vibe was great as soon as we  stepped in. The staff were really helpful…not like in the Picasso Museum where we were followed around and told we couldn’t take pictures. These guys said…yeah, take pictures. There were smiley, courteous and friendly.

As for the exhibits. It was really saddening that there was limited time, so all we could do was whizz round in amazement. I tried to take as many pics as I could, and also captured some of the text that accompanied the installations to imbibe at a later date.

All I can say is these artefacts represented different continents, tribes and peoples. They were stunning. All I could think was, we lost all of this and have replaced it with Macdonalds. Very sad indeed.

I highly recommend it.

 

About

Singer/Songwriter Learning & Development Consultant Good Egg

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in History, Inspiration, Social Science
One comment on “Museum of World Cultures – Barcelona

If you like this post, or have any thoughts on the content. Leave a Reply

