Google Glasses – Test Drive

Ok. I see. Accessing some of the fucntionality

Ok. I see. Accessing some of the fucntionality

I’ve had a lot going on of late. I’ve been meaning to do several write-ups…but the road to hell is paved with good intentions 🙂

Therefore  I’ll attempt to update you with some of those things that have been happening in s0ngb1rd’s world over the next few days and posts. I’m going to start with the latest stuff and work backwards…if that’s ok with you? Great!

  • Google Glasses
  • Benchmark for Business Leadership Conference (with Steve Radcliffe and Simon Sinek)
  • Brand Me
  • Rudimental Concert
  • Learning Technologies 2014

Google Glasses

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There was a lot of talk about Google Glasses at Learning Technologies Conference, with a couple of pairs on the Epic stand, and also, Martin Couzins (LearnPatch) and Dave Kelley (L & D Dave) demonstrating at the LearnPatch post conference get together…which I was unable to attend. So although I had a great conference, which I shall talk about in another post…I didn’t get my hands on any glasses during the 2 days.

I had a meeting a couple of days ago with the guys at Epic to discuss some work around Onboarding and Induction among other things, and they had  kindly agreed to give me a demo. You see, there are some exciting things we’d like to do with them, but I need to understand the capabilities and limitations 🙂 I’d already accessed some of L & D Dave’s post #LTUK14 resources a while back, which he always does an outstanding job in curating.  I also went on to Kineo’s Steve Rayson (also City & Guilds and now Buzzsumo)  Buzzsumo site to get some insight into trends and influencers around the Google Glasses…so I had done a bit of homework.  I had also already put my name down with Google to see if I can get a beta test pair for myself…but I’m sure there is a long queue.

I had Creative Director and Photographer Kofi Allen with me. He has an outstandingly creative mind, so its always good to get his creative and artistic perspective of stuff…and we are both really keen to explore the the juxtaposition between art and technology…so who better?

It does take a while to orient yourself once you have them on, and to get to grips with how the functionality works. Also, I never really had long enough to use them seamlessly..but I’m sure that’s just a time thing. The voice activation is really cool. For example…I said “Take a Video”…and it did. I also asked it to take me to a couple of websites…and it did. It also went to some places where I didn’t ask it to go, so Google Glasses and I had some comms issues…but that is all par for the course. I’d like to thank Kayleigh and Andy at Epic for taking the time to show us the glasses. Let’s see what the future holds…watch this space!

About

Singer/Songwriter Learning & Development Consultant Good Egg

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Conferences, Events, Learning Insight, Performance Support, Promotion, Social Learning
2 comments on “Google Glasses – Test Drive
  1. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post! It is the little changes that produce the greatest changes. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Many thanks, However I am having issues with your RSS. I don’t know why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anyone else getting similar RSS issues? Anybody who knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

If you like this post, or have any thoughts on the content. Leave a Reply

