My Dear Old Ma…Poem: Reflection on John Major’s comments

I wrote this short poem a couple of months ago, but given John Major’s discourse today about elitism and privilege...I thought it might be good to share it. When I wrote it it was more of a brain dump, so I’ve made a few adjustments for readability, but the main thrust is unchanged.

'My Dear Old Ma' on the left

‘My Dear Old Ma’ on the left

My dear old ma may not have had
The contact book to get my foot
In the door of a Fortune 500
But she raised me with a moral compass and a smile
And as I navigate today’s workplace
I let that be my guide

My dear old  ma may not have been
So blessed with all the ways and means
To give instruction or provide
A school that cash the best  can buy
But somehow she always made sure  that I
Got to school on time and wore a tie

My dear old  ma may not have had
The presence of my dear old man
But by example showed the way
That true strength comes from deep within

So you may say that poor old girl
She don’t have much
This ain’t her world
But in this oyster I’m the pearl
About

Singer/Songwriter Learning & Development Consultant Good Egg

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Opinion
4 comments on “My Dear Old Ma…Poem: Reflection on John Major’s comments
  1. MaryMaryWhy-U-Bugging says:

    Love Love! Thanks for posting. I look forward to reading more. 🙂

  2. Laura Jones says:

    I really enjoyed reading this, thank you!

If you like this post, or have any thoughts on the content. Leave a Reply

