I was made for such a time as this

This is a quote from the bible, and I used it in one of my songs. You can find the lyrics at the end of this post and I have provided a link to the album  I’ll explain….

http://bible.cc/esther/4-14.htm (These are various versions of the bible verse)

I wrote a song with Chaz Jankel a couple of years ago for his album, The Submarine Has Surfaced: http://chazjankel.com/submarine.html

I hadn’t spoken to Chaz for perhaps a few years, but I had seen somewhere online that he was working on the soundtrack for a film about Ian Dury’s life. I contacted him to congratulate him, and it just so happened that he was working on a album project and would I like to be involved…hell yeah!

Chaz had written a few songs and I did vocals for them. As some of you may know..I am a songwriter, so more often than not I sing my own songs, but I always love working on new an interesting things, and try not to limit the scope of what I will and will not or can and cannnot do. I was more than happy to do this.

I alongside others MC Tali, Steven Tart, Derek ‘The Draw’ Hussey had  the vocals on that album and some of our own compositions. Available here 🙂

This leads me onto the track that was written by me, and here’s how it came about. It was a coming together for us having worked together in a previous life when we were both at the same publishing company. Chaz had some music in mind and had remembered that I had written a poem years earlier and shared it with him. First of all…I was really surprised that he remembered.

Did I still have the poem, and could I fit it to this music? The thing is…I couldn’t find the poem, but I had retained a portion of it in my memory…so I used this as the basis to re-write the rest of the song, that became A Restless Path, on the album.

So where am I going with all this?

I just watched a TED talk by Deanna Zandt, shared by my twitter comrade Arnold Beekes.

In it Deanna talks about the future of networks and the passion which binds them. Arnold also spoke about those people in business who have not yet understood the implications of the changing nature of social networks, as they go about their daily lives, and how he encourages them to ‘scan the networks’ for opportunities and threats.

Going back to Deanna, she spoke about how the changing nature of the online world had conspired to allow her to find her feet as a social media technologist and speaker, and also how these opportunites are there for everyone. Allowing them to express their authentic selves. This made me think about the song I had written. For someone like me. The online world allows me to project an authentic voice into the world. To explore avenues that had previously been denied or prohibited. It allows me to make my own mental connections rather than having them prescribed by a hierarchical, more informed, better knowing entity. Its an idea whose time has come…and I was made for such a time as this.

A restless path beside a shaky precipice

A work of art hid clean away

All of our yesterday’s spent and no more to gain

So do we, so do we, do we live our lives in vain?

Well I was made for such a time as this

And you were made for such a time as this

Let passion flow from every part of you

All of our dreams together in a single tome

So are we, so are we closer to home?

Well I was made  for such a time as this

And you were made for such a time as this

Hatred diffused by our sagacity

Tender young minds now fully grown

Your fears rise up and slide away

Like lamb slides of the bone

Well I was made  for such a time as this

And you were made for such a time as this

http://chazjankel.com/submarine.html

http://www.itsbastedo.com/

http://www.deannazandt.com/

http://www.theproperway.com/homeeng.htm

About

Singer/Songwriter Learning & Development Consultant Good Egg

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Learning Insight, Lyrics, Opinion, Social Learning, Social Media
2 comments on “I was made for such a time as this
  1. Arnold Beekes says:

    <html><head></head><body bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><div>And not many people have the courage to change themselves.&nbsp;</div><div>They rather want others to change – <a href="http://www.coachingtheproperway.com">www.coachingtheproperway.com</a><br></div><div><br></div><div></div><blockquote type="cite"><div><div style="width: 600px; font-size: 12px; font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 18px;" class="PosterousEmail"></div></div></body></html>

  2. s0ngb1rd says:

    Reblogged this on Reflections from the s0ngb1rd and commented:

    I’m reblogging this, as I’m in a period of deeper engagement with all things social media. All will become clear

If you like this post, or have any thoughts on the content. Leave a Reply

