Not just lurking but contributing – A gift

I was reading a post that Jane Hart referenced in her Yammer Social Learning community today. It referred to Online Lurkers and what should be done about them.

I also remember reading some comments a few weeks back (perhaps in the same forum) about those people who shared expertise online in hopes of tangible rewards at a later stage, only to find that those rewards were few and far between. This has left them feeling that perhaps it is  time to rethink the ‘sharing’ strategy. I’ve always been a little on the paranoid side…but also..I often lurk here and there..so I felt a little guilty after reading the post. However..if you’ve ever read my blogs, I’ve explained my reasons for this.

I’ve been writing this blog for over a year now, and started because of direct encouragement from the Learning Technologies community, especially Don Taylor.

Alot of the work I do, cannot be shared for commercial reasons. However, I decided I wanted to give something back. The online Learning and Development community for me has been a lifeline at times, and thought leaders in our field such as Jane, Don and many others I could name…add so much value and help so many of us. I hope they reap as much as they have sown.

Anyway. I wanted to share something with you all. I am currently working on developing some systems e-learning using rapid techniques: Camtasia and Captivate mainly. However, as part of the process, I was asked to find out how much it would cost to outsource the work. There was no precedent for me to follow, so I searched online for something to help me. Now…I did not create this document from scratch, but did a ‘mashup’ of two documents and tailored it for my own purposes. Also, because we intend to expand our learning delievery modes, I know I can use it in the near future. I would reference the document online where I got many of the questions…but I’ll confess to not remembering. You may recognise some of the questions and help me out there. The result. A weighted Vendor Checklist.  The purpose of the document was to assist in the vendor evaluation process, and allow us to make rational decisions about how we would proceed.

I have attached my version for you to download, review or share. I would be grateful for any feedback/comments on if/how you use it, revise it etc, but the main thing is to share. Add Value, and give a little something back. I hope you find it useful. 

About

Singer/Songwriter Learning & Development Consultant Good Egg

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Not just lurking but contributing – A gift
  1. Alex Watson says:

    Yes Craig. The dreaded checklist 🙂 I think it is necessary to be able to compare like with like. It was an interesting exercise in many respects. Just a shame the powers that be didn’t give me the green light to outsource…now I’m knee deep in content development again!

If you like this post, or have any thoughts on the content. Leave a Reply

